Awards & Scholarships

The LMCA has established several annual awards which honor operational and academic achievement within the fields of mosquito control and research.  In addition to recognizing individual professionals for their accomplishments, the LMCA also funds a scholarship which is available to graduate students in Louisiana, Arkansas, Mississippi, Oklahoma and Texas.


C. Lamar Meek

Memorial Scholarship

The LMCA will award a $1,500 scholarship to one student each year to promote and encourage academic pursuits relating to medical and veterinary entomology. Undergraduate or graduate students enrolled in an accredited college or university in the state of Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Oklahoma or Texas are eligible for this award. The award is named after Dr. Lamar Meek, who for many years worked to strengthen the LMCA and educate both students and the community about medical and forensic entomology.  He was a splendid educator and accomplished researcher at LSU.

Printable - Guidelines for Applicants Application Form


LMCA Operational Research Fund

Grants are limited to Louisiana based research

These grants provide seed money to researchers (graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, and faculty) in building databases for the next level of research and/or to allow grantees to use data to encourage collaboration and leverage for further research.  Projects are generally completed within 1-2 years of funding. Special attention is given to projects that are developing solutions to an identified mosquito-borne disease and/or mosquito control problem or need in Louisiana. Preference will be given to projects that contribute directly to an improved public health climate in Louisiana.

Application Information, Cover PageCover Page MS Word


Hathaway - Ritter Distinguished Achievement Award

Details of their accomplishments can be found in the LMCA History page

This award is given in recognition of outstanding contributions to the cause of mosquito control in Louisiana.  Dr. Edward S. Hathaway (1886-1984) and Anderson B. Ritter (1904-1968) blended their interests, energies and remarkable talents into a focused effort bringing professional mosquito control to the people of Louisiana.


Lewis T. Graham

Student Research Award

Lewis T. Graham was a biology professor at USL in Lafayette (now University of Louisiana at Lafayette). This award is for an undergraduate student conducting research in any area of mosquito biology and/or control in the State of Louisiana. The award totals $500 to be used for research or associated educational costs plus $300 for travel to the LMCA Annual Meeting.  The name of the recipient will be announced each year during the annual meeting of the LMCA.

Printable - Guidelines

  • F. Scott Willis - 1988 McNeese State
  • Kyle Moppert - 1990 LSU
  • C. Roxanne Rutledge - 1994 LSU
  • Nora Comiskey - 1995 Tulane
  • Jeffery D. Stancil - 1998 LSU
  • Clara B. Ocampo - 2000 Tulane
  • Jessica Brauch - 2007 LSU

Stephen C. Mayor

Operational Achievement Award

Stephen was the president of the LMCA in 1996 and he also served as the Director of Mosquito Control in Jeff Davis Parish.  The operational achievement award was created in memory of Mayor who died in a plane crash returning from a spray flight near Jennings, LA.

This award is for the best operational paper presented at the LMCA Annual Meeting.  The award is made to residents of the State of Louisiana and employed by a mosquito control operation in Louisiana.  The award consists of a cash award of $500 and a plaque engraved with name and topic of achievement.

Printable - Guidelines

  • Jeanine Tessmer / Charles Stearns - 1995 EBRMARC
  • Kim Kimble - 1997 St. Tammany Parish MAD
  • Wilbert Brooks & Duane Allen - 2004 EBRMARC
  • Michael Morganti - 2013 EBRMARC
  • George Bragg - 2014 West Baton Rouge Parish Mosquito Control
  • Danny Bartie - 2015 Calcasieu Parish Mosquito Control
  • Blaise Navarro - 2016 Tangipahoa Mosquito Abatement District #1
  • Nick DiLisi - 2017 St. Tammany Parish Mosquito Abatement
  • Kellie Nestrud - 2018 VDCI
Scroll to Top